David Joranson, MSW

Director and Senior Scientist of the Comprehensive Cancer Center
University of Wisconsin Medical School
United States

David Joranson is a Senior Scientist and Director of the Pain and Policy Studies Group (PPSG) at the University of Wisconsin Medical School, Comprehensive Cancer Center, Madison, Wisconsin. The mission of the PPSG is to study and improve pain-related policies that regulate professional practice with pain medications. This work is accomplished through a program of policy research, education and communications. The Group has a website (http://www.medsch.wisc.edu/painpolicy) which contains PPSG publications and the pain specific statutes, regulations and guidelines of all the states. The program is supported by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the Project on Death in America, Advocates for Children's Pain Relief and unrestricted grants from industry.

The PPSG is also the World Health Organization Collaborating Center for Policy and Communications in Cancer Care, leading the WHO global program to improve the availability of opioid analgesics for relief of pain due to cancer.

Joranson's publications address the legal and regulatory aspects of pain management, as well as trends in state pain-related policy, such as medical board guidelines and "intractable pain treatment acts." He recently published a study about the trends in medical use and abuse of opioid analgesics in the Journal of the Medical Association.

After receiving his Master of Science in Social Work from the University of Wisconsin, Joranson directed a comprehensive drug abuse treatment program, and then became administrator of the Wisconsin Controlled Substances Board. As a regulator, he co-founded the Wisconsin Cancer Pain Initiative and the National Association for State Controlled Substances Authorities. He is a member of the American Pain Society, from which he received the Distinguished Service Award in 1998, and the John and Emma Bonica Public Service Award in 1999). Joranson is a member of the International Association for the Study of Pain, and a life member of the Indian Association for Palliative Care.